skip to Main Content
07972 774250

Congratulations to Dagan, Will, Lee & Tom!

Congratulations to DaganWillLee & Tom! Four Steelers players invited to the first GB Junior selection camp following GB’s gold medal at the 2017 U23 World Championships, the guys will begin the selection process for next year’s U23 European Championships.

Receiving an invite to selection camp is a great sign that the improvement of our hard-working young guys (and Will) is being recognised by the GB Junior coaching staff, and Steelers wish them the best of luck in this chance to prove themselves at the next level!

Date: Monday 20 November 2017

GB U23 Men’s Training Camp Squad Announced

British Wheelchair Basketball today announced the U23 GB selection for its 2017 Christmas Training Camp.
The Camp will be hosted alongside the men’s senior training camp at the GB Elite Training Centre, EIS Sheffield, and will be held Monday 18th December to Thursday 21st December.
The selection announcement sees six members of the historic U23 World Championship Team return to GB Camp. Training alongside these junior stars will be 17 GB debutants, who have secured their first camp call up.
These young players from across England and each of the Home Countries will be training for the opportunity to represent the nation, and commence their journey through the selection process for the U23 GB European Championship Team.
Impressed by the wealth of talent progressing through British Wheelchair Basketball’s National League clubs, and confident of a successful future for the GB U23 Team, Head Coach Scott Wallace Commented:
“The Junior programme is continuing to pull through some great potential. It is important that we continue to build on our success at the World Championships and bring players in.
“We have an opportunity this year to consolidate and integrate new players whilst looking forward to the European Championships on the horizon in the summer of 2018.”
Simon Fisher, British Wheelchair Basketball’s Talent Development Officer echoed Scott’s sentiments and added:
“The selected squad is a testament to the clubs, home nations and regions that have been developing players through the performance pathway. The coaches have selected a squad with a focus on both the Europeans next summer, and an eye on starting the development path towards the next World Championships in 2021.
“I would like to thank all the club coaches involved for the hard work in helping to develop these players.”

GB U23 Men:

Name Club Junior Club Classification

  1. Jim Palmer Rhine River Rhinos 1
  2. Sameer Rehman CWBA CWBA 1
  3. Dagan Roberts Sheffield Steelers 1
  4. David Hird St Mirren Warriors 1
  5. Jake Robinson Shropshire Warriors 1.5
  6. Alex Mitton GLL & London Titans 1.5
  7. Dan May CWBA CWBA 1.5
  8. Sam Mack CWBA 2
  9. Lanre Sowami Tornados 2
  10. Sam Lemon Exeter Otters 2
  11. Callum Doherty Manchester Mavericks Lancaster Spinners 2
  12. David Beattie CWSC Panthers Lancaster Whirlers 2
  13. Sam Law West Coast Warriors 2
  14. Tom Tobin Tornados Tornados 2.5
  15. Oliver Griffith-Salter CWBA CWBA 2.5
  16. Josh Graham Northern Ireland WBC Northern Ireland WBC 3
  17. Will Bonner Sheffield Steelers 3
  18. Finley Tonner Manchester Mavericks Lancaster Spinners 3
  19. Lewis Edwards Tornados 3
  20. Peter Lewis Northern Ireland WBC Northern Ireland WBC 3
  21. Matt Travers CWBA 3.5
  22. Conn Nagle NI Knights Northern Ireland WBC 3.5
  23. Peter Cusack CWBA CWBA 3.5
  24. Tom Barnes Sheffield Steelers Sheffield Steelers 3.5
  25. Josh Manson RGK Tees Valley Titans RGK Tees Valley Titans 3.5
  26. Jack Barlow North Wales Knights 4
  27. Cameron O’Connor London Allstars London Allstars 4
  28. Lee Fryer Sheffield Steelers Sheffield Steelers 4
  29. Aaron Grant The Bears 4
  30. Jon Dunn The Owls 4.5
  31. Ben Leitch Lothian Phoenix Phoenix Dragons 4.5

Since the sport’s inclusion in the Paralympic Games in 1960, the GB Wheelchair Basketball Teams have made it the most successful British Olympic and Paralympic team sport: 3 silver medals (1960, 1964 & 1996) and five bronze medals (1960, 1968, 2004, 2008 & 2016).

Back To Top